Transformation

Over the course of the next 12 weeks I’m going to talk about transformation.  Eight years ago I was a chartered accountant working in corporate finance.  Now I run Breathe London, teach yoga, massage, do personal development coaching and run positive psychology workshops.

In order to understand how I created the job that I love I’m going to introduce the key tipping points, courses I’ve studied, inspirational teachers I’ve met and books that have changed the way I think and feel.

The courses include Emotional intelligence psychometric testing and coaching, a masters in positive psychology, life coaching, Reiki mastery, Sivananda yoga, Hawaiian massage and Polynesian philosophy, deep tissue massage, vipassana mediation, mindfulness coaching, Iyengar yoga, Tai chi, scuba diving and many more

Each week I’ll explore each area to give you an insight into how each of these courses has improved the quality of my life.  I’ll also provide details on courses that you can attend and teachers that I recommend.

Transformation of the mind can never be pinpointed, it’s an ongoing process.  However there are often key moments which feel like tectonic plate movements.  One of the first that I felt was on a glorious Summers day walking across the Domain in Sydney in 1999.  It was a Friday and I was stressed about a deal that I was involved on.  As I looked into the distance I suddenly noticed how green the trees were in the botanical gardens.  They seemed to shimmer and vibrate.  Next I caught the sun glinting on the harbour and felt it also warm my cheeks.  Overhead a Qantas jet banked over the harbour bridge.  I felt my body and mind fill with light and burst with pleasure.  I felt connected with everything around me. My experience merged completely with my environment.  It was as though for the first time I was in tune with my surroundings. I felt a burst of energy which felt like the whole world was powering me.  I wept and life has never been the same since.

Now whether this event occurred because of the people who implanted ideas or because of the books I read or the courses I attended or because of predetermination I shall never know.  All I know is that every so often when I stop and observe the world I feel fully energised and blessed to be alive.

Have a happy and transformational new year

Love Andy

Posted on January 11, 2012, in Coaching, Meditation etc., positive psychology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You know you had me at Hawaiian massage! It’s always interesting to find out how people got to the point they’re at and we can all take things to nourish our souls from it. Right now, yoga is making amazing changes in my body and mind and really changing who I am. I look forward to hearing more about your journey and what’s inspired you. In one of my favourite plays, the lead character says: “Pass the parcel. That’s sometimes all you can do. Take it, feel it and pass it on. Not for me, not for you, but for someone, somewhere, one day. Pass it on, boys. That’s the game I want you to learn. Pass it on.” So, Andy, carry on passing it on…

Leave a comment