Learn about the beautiful findings from positive psychology

 

Last June I started to think about how to use the ideas from my Masters degree in Positive Psychology in our wellbeing business. Before doing this I reflected on some of the key research findings:

  • To a large extent our levels of happiness and wellbeing are within our own control. How we perceive and react to events is an important determinant of how happy we are
  • When we choose to attend to the positive aspects of our lives we can face challenges, support friends, overcome obstacles, be more creative and realistic about our situation in life
  • Paying attention to negative signals in life is important but we also need to focus on what works well. You can train the mind to reflect on your strengths and this training can become a lifetime habit
  • Emotions and energy flows between us and therefore the manner in which you communicate and the substance of your communication affects us all
  • For whatever reason there is something that counterbalances the selfish gene – the more kind and compassionate we are the more we benefit
  • Having strong connections to friends and local communities is one of the major factors in positively influencing our wellbeing levels
  • The happier and more engaged we are at work, the more likely it is that we will be happy in other areas of our life and perform better at our jobs
  • Whilst we all need structure and routines, we also need to allow in change. When we experience and learn from change our minds stay youthful and active

There are lots of other  findings from Positive Psychology research but these are the ones that helped shaped the values of our business and “hopefully” influence how we relate to each other as colleagues within Breathe, our clients and our partners, Coin St Community Builders and Jubilee Hall Trust. I hope you find them valuable too. More details at www.breathe-london.com/positive-psychology

Our values at Breathe London:

Giving

“You make a living by what you get; you make a life by what you give”
Arthur Ash

How can I give more to the community I live within?

Beauty

“When you have only two pennies left in the world, buy a loaf of bread with one, and a lily with the other” – Old Chinese Proverb

What can I do to make our work environment more beautiful for myself, my colleagues and our clients?

Confidence

“It is our attitude at the beginning of a task, which more than anything else will affect a successful outcome” William James

Let’s talk with confidence about our work, our colleagues and our business

 
Change
“Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” Albert Einstein
How can I approach each day with a fresh perspective? What can I do differently today to help myself, my colleagues and my clients?
Connection
“But friendship is precious, not only in the shade, but in the sunshine of life; and thanks to a benevolent arrangement of things, the greater part of life is sunshine” Thomas Jefferson
How can I make a positive connection with the people I work with, the community I work within and my clients?
Strength
“For an impenetrable shield, stand inside yourself” Henry David Thoreau
Do I know what I am best at in life? Do I have the opportunity to be at my best with friends, colleagues and my clients? Do I know my colleagues strengths and do I support them as best I can?

For more information on our Positive Psychology courses, massage, acupuncture, hypnotherapy and yoga go to www.breathe-london.com

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

 

 

 

 

Posted on March 2, 2011, in Coaching, Meditation etc. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

